Big Bang’s Sheldon Shows Us How Not to Teach

I enjoy the TV sitcom Big Bang Theory.  Apparently a lot of other people do too because reruns seem to appear often – on several channels in different time slots.  Recently I saw a segment where Sheldon teaches – or tries to teach – Penny physics.  His teaching is a great example of how not to engage a learner as well as many other mistakes some instructors make.

The six minute version on YouTube provides an opportunity to apply the before-during-after time periods related to transfer and also to apply some of my Training Transfer Process model.

Click here to watch the exerpt of the episode.  While you’re watching I hope you’ll think about what Sheldon should have done differently and what he could have done before and after the session with Penny that might have helped her apply her learning.  Also think about your own teaching/training…. I know I recognized a few things that I have to watch and keep myself from doing!

When you’ve finished viewing, read my comments below the clip about how Sheldon could’ve applied aspects of my Training Transfer Process.

Enjoy!

Barbara

Leave a Reply

